J. Shipman Gold Medal Award

Recognizing Supply Management Leaders and Mentors

Nominate a senior leader, role model, or mentor for the prestigious J. Shipman Gold Medal Award. This distinguished award is presented to an individual whose career accomplishments have promoted the advancement of the procurement and supply chain management profession.

Shipman medalists have assisted in the mentoring and guiding of new talent and rising stars and are at the pinnacle of their career. Nominees should be viewed by others as innovators, community leaders, mentors and teachers. Nominees do not have to be ISM members.

The winner of the J. Shipman Gold Medal Award is announced and celebrated at the ISM World Annual Conference

Submissions Currently Closed.

The 2024 submission period will tentatively be from September 2023 - January 2024.

Don't miss reminders, winner updates and tips by signing up below!

About the J. Shipman Award

Johnson Shipman was a pioneer member of the New York affiliate of the National Association of Purchasing Agents, now Institute for Supply Management ®, well-known for giving liberally of his time and counsel. The J. Shipman Gold Medal Award was created by the Purchasing Management Association of New York in 1931, and is presented to those individuals whose modest, unselfish, sincere, and persistent efforts have aided the advancement of the procurement and supply chain management field. Following in the award namesake’s tradition, those chosen for the award have also assisted and guided members of the profession in their endeavors.


Our 2022 Shipman Medalist

Institute for Supply Management® named Jimmy Anklesaria, FCA, LLB, MBA, founder and chief executive officer at Anklesaria Group and adjunct professor at University of California, San Diego Rady School of Management, the 2022 J. Shipman Gold Medal Award winner in recognition of his distinguished service for the cause and advancement of the supply management profession.

Anklesaria was honored during the 2022 Shipman Award ceremony at ISM World 2022. “Jimmy, like many Shipman Medalists, has profoundly influenced many generations of supply management leaders. Even while he advised some of the world’s most iconic companies, such as Hewlett-Packard and IBM, he has assiduously mentored and cultivated succeeding generations,” said ISM chief executive officer Tom Derry. “To cite only one but profound example, Jimmy was instrumental in establishing the R. Gene Richter Scholarship program, where, through the program itself and his participation as an executive mentor, he has contributed enormously to the development of the up-and-coming leaders of our profession.”

In Anklesaria’s 34-year career in procurement and supply chain, his passions gravitated to education and philanthropy. Since 1985, he has taught graduate, undergraduate, and executive courses in strategic cost management, finance, and investments at the University of San Diego (USD), where he was named Outstanding Professor of the Year in 1987. He has also lectured in strategic cost management at the Graduate School of Business of the University of Chicago, Michigan State University, University of Southern California, Arizona State University, and several others.

I’m so humbled and honored to receive the Shipman Award and join 90 other awardees, many of whom I know and have worked with over the past three decades,” said Anklesaria. “I’ve learned so much from the supply chain community and hope to spend the rest of my career sharing experiences and ideas with the emerging leaders of our profession."


Past J. Shipman Medalists

2000-2021 Shipman Gold Medal Winners

2021 — Sidney Johnson
2020 — Sue Spence
2019 — Thomas Linton
2018 — Christie Breves
2017 — Thomas H. Slaight
2016 — Timothy R Fiore, CPSM, C.P.M.
2015 — Bradley Holcomb, CPSM, CPSD
2014 — Paul Novak, CPSM, C.P.M., A.P.P.
2013 — Lisa Martin, CPSM, C.P.M.
2012 — Joseph L. Cavinato, Ph.D., C.P.M.
2011 — Shelley Stewart, Jr., CPSM
2010 — Anthony S. Nieves, C.P.M., A.P.P, CFPM
2009 — Richard D. Rich, C.P.M.
2008 — Robert M. Monczka, Ph.D., C.P.M.
2007 — Norbert J. Ore, CPSM, C.P.M.
2006 — R. David Nelson, C.P.M., A.P.P.
2005 — Robert A. Kemp, Ph.D., CPSM, C.P.M., A.P.P.
2004 — H. Ervin Lewis, C.P.M.
2003 — Richard L. Jackson, C.P.M., A.P.P.
2002 — Ralph G. Kauffman, Ph.D., C.P.M.
2001 — Raymond A. Clayton, C.P.M., A.P.P.
2000 — Elaine N. Whittington, C.P.M., A.P.P.

1980-1999 Shipman Gold Medal Winners

1999 — Alan R. Raedels, Ph.D., C.P.M.
1998 — Henry F. Garcia, C.P.M., A.P.P.
1997 — R. Jerry Baker, C.P.M.
1996 — Rene Yates, CPSM, C.P.M., A.P.P.
1995 — Paul K. Moffat, C.P.M.
1994 — Robert J. Bretz, C.P.M.
1993 — William A. Bales, C.P.M.
1992 — Harold E. Fearon, Ph.D., C.P.M.
1991 — J. Andrew Sutton, C.P.M.
1990 — Kenneth H. Killen, Ed.D., C.P.M.
1989 — John H. Hoagland, Ph.D., C.P.M.
1988 — Ted Thompson
1987 — Donald W. Dobler, Ph.D., C.P.M.
1986 — May Warzocha, C.P.M.
1985 — Floyd Hedrick, C.P.M.
1984 — Charles T. Haffey, C.P.M.
1983 — Charles L. Blue, C.P.M.
1982 — Paul Farrell, C.P.M.
1981 — James M. Hill, Jr.
1980 — Harold Bloom, C.P.M.

1979-1960 Shipman Gold Medal Winners

1979 — Frank Winters
1978 — Victor Pooler
1977 — Alfred E. Jones
1976 — Harry N. Wada, C.P.M.
1975 — W. B. Brown, Jr.
1974 — R. W. Brick

1973 — Thomas O. English
1972 — H. E. Cross
1971 — Russell T. Stark, Sr.
1970 — Kenneth Cruise
1969 — W. B. England
1968 — J. R. Megliola
1967 — Gordon B. Affleck
1966 — Paisley Boney
1965 — G. W. Howard Ahl
1964 — Harold Berry, C.P.M.
1963 — E. F. Andrews
1962 — G. L. Wilson
1961 — Harold F. Jones
1960 — Chester Ogden





1959-1940 Shipman Gold Medal Winners

1959 — H. W. Christensen
1958 — Ralph O. Keefer
1957 — Harry J. Graham
1956 — T. A. Corcoran
1955 — B. R. Newbery
1954 — E. H. Weaver
1953 — George W. Aljian
1952 — R. C. Swanton
1951 — H. M. Cosgrove
1950 — Joseph W. Nicholson
1949 — Julian C. Davies
1948 — F. A. Hayes
1947 — R. C. Haberkern
1946 — G. E. Price, Jr.
1945 — S. F. Heinritz
1944 — Dr. F. W. Russa
1943 — T. D. Jolly
1942 — E. B. Hendricks
1941 — D. M. Nelson
1940 — Dr. H. T. Lewis

1931 - 1939 Shipman Gold Medal Winners

1939 — F. J. Heaslip
1938 — T. W. Harris, Jr.
1937 — E. T. Gushee
1936 — Donald G. Clark
1935 — Walter N. Kirkman
1934 — Russell Forbes
1933 — George A. Renard
1932 — Lewis A. Jones
1931 — L. F. Boffey

Submissions Currently Closed

The 2024 submission period will tentatively be from September 2023 - January 2024.

Get Announcements for J. Shipman Gold Medal Award

Get updates about the nomination opening and other key information and announcements.