Institute for Supply Management® Announces 2024 R. Gene Richter Scholarship Winners

March 28, 2024

Five students from across the United States selected for top supply chain award

TEMPE, Ariz. (March 28, 2024) — Institute for Supply Management® (ISM®) has selected the 2024 recipients of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship, an award presented annually to the top supply management students from across the United States. Recipients were determined based upon a submitted essay, cumulative grade point average, demonstrated leadership, extracurricular involvement, and overall achievements as an undergraduate professional, including through internships and case competitions.

The 2024 R. Gene Richter Scholars include Alivia Clawson of The Pennsylvania State University, Alec Cousino of Wayne State University, James Webb Fox III of University of Cincinnati, Taahera Islam of University of South Carolina, and Megan Merola of The Pennsylvania State University. This cohort of scholars joins more than 146 students from 30 different universities across the United States who have earned this honor since its inception in 2004.

“We are very proud to introduce the 2024 class of Richter scholars. We truly believe they will grow to become leaders in supply management,” said Nancy Richter, founder of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program. “Our Richter scholars will add a fresh perspective to the field with their proven leadership, creativity, and initiative.”

The award recipients will be honored at an exclusive executive luncheon and at the ISM Awards Gala on April 30 at ISM World 2024, ISM’s annual conference in Las Vegas from April 29 – May 1. Now in its 21st year, the R. Gene Richter Scholarship provides a monetary award of up to US$15,000 in tuition assistance. Notably, recipients are also given access to an executive mentor and leader in the profession and a former Richter scholar as a junior mentor.

“These students represent the impressive future leaders of the profession,” said ISM CEO Thomas Derry. “We know each will contribute greatly to the success of their respective future organizations as they’ve demonstrated their commitment in their accomplishments thus far.”

The R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program was established and named in memory of R. Gene Richter, who was a galvanizing force in the field of procurement. Richter is admired for elevating the profession to world-class stature. He led the supply organizations at Stanley Black & Decker, Hewlett-Packard, and International Business Machines (IBM). For information on the R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program and the 2024 winners, visit:, and