Institute for Supply Management® Announces 2023 R. Gene Richter Scholarship Winners

April 18, 2023

Six students from across the United States selected for top supply chain award

TEMPE, Ariz. (April 18, 2022) – Institute for Supply Management® (ISM®) has selected the 2023 recipients of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship, an award presented annually to the top supply management students from across the United States. Recipients were determined based upon a submitted essay, cumulative grade point average, demonstrated leadership, extracurricular involvement, and overall achievements as an undergraduate professional, including through internships and case competitions.

The 2023 R. Gene Richter Scholars include David Hinkle of Lehigh University, Garrett Callenberger of The Pennsylvania State University, Madison Dober of Western Michigan University, Peter Estefan of Michigan State University, Zach Abdulnour of Wayne State University, and Nicole Carvagno of University of Tennessee, Knoxville. This cohort of scholars joins more than 140 students from 25 different universities across the United States who have earned this honor since its inception in 2004.

“We are very proud to introduce the 2023 class of Richter scholars. They are the brightest and best from across the country and we truly believe they will grow to become leaders in supply management,” said Nancy Richter, founder of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program. “Our Richter scholars will add a fresh perspective to the field with their proven leadership, creativity and initiative.”

The award recipients will be honored at a dinner on May 8 at ISM World 2023, ISM’s annual conference in Grapevine, Texas from May 7 - 10. Now in its 20th year, the R. Gene Richter Scholarship provides a monetary award of up to US$10,000 in tuition assistance. Notably, recipients are also given access to an executive mentor and leader in the profession and a former Richter scholar as a junior mentor.

“These students represent the impressive future leaders of the profession,” said ISM CEO Thomas Derry. “We know each will contribute greatly to the success of their respective future organizations as they’ve demonstrated their commitment in their accomplishments thus far.”

The R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program was established and named in memory of R. Gene Richter, who was a galvanizing force in the field of procurement. Richter is admired for elevating the profession to world-class stature. He led the supply organizations at Stanley Black & Decker, Hewlett-Packard, and International Business Machines (IBM). For information on the R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program and the 2023 winners, visit:, and